Top 10 Things #1

160608 - Top-1010 Morning Habits of Highly Successful People  …

The Morning Routines Of The Most Successful People …

12 Morning Routines That Top Entrepreneurs Execute Daily …

What 16 Successful People Do During Their Morning Routine …

11 Morning Rituals That Can Change Your Life …

The Morning Ritual : 5 Things to Do Before Breakfast to Clear Your Mind and Start The Day …

To be the most successful and influential entrepreneur that clears her mind before breakfast; starts the day “properly” and therefore has the opportunity to change both her life and the world, I will rise one hour earlier than has become comfortable, meditate while writing a gratitude journal on an elliptical trainer with inspirational anecdotes playing in the background and a glass of lemon-infused water to my left (my right-hand now occupied with my day’s “To Do” list)

I have done none of those things.

My morning consisted of easing out of bed 40 minutes after the alarm ‘phone went off –  then making a cup of tea … pfaffing around with making lunch (leftovers from not last night but a night that still sees the food within the ‘safe eating zone’) and then sitting down to type … before I arrive only slightly late for work …

Does that mean that I will be neither successful nor influential? Or – worse – does that mean that I won’t be as successful or influential as I could have been? …

… because that’s my take-home from a scan of these headings…

I want to be successful (I have been socially-conditioned well) … truth be known … I wouldn’t mind being “highly-successful” … what are the chances of that unless I follow the Top 10s, Top12 Best, 5 Things To Do …

Each is designed to make me feel like there is a better way to ‘do’ life … that I am not ‘doing’ it right …

… at the moment my chest is tight, my breath shallow, shoulders tense … I should have meditated/exercised/journalled/squeezed a lemon …

 

But – what would happen if … I held these pieces of advice “lightly” – what would that look like?

And then the next step … what if I stepped back from all well-meant words of advice and investigated them with an interested curiosity, but little or no emotional investment ? What would that feel like?

 

 

One thought on “Top 10 Things #1

  1. Pingback: Why do I seek, and take, advice? | Notes on Curiosity

Leave a Reply

