I am part of everything that I have read…

This is not mine – this was Theodore Roosevelt’s truth almost a century ago.

Is it my truth now?

I am part of everything that I have read – words have caused me to think, to mull, to question; they have incited emotion; they have enticed action; they have shaped life course. Words and I have a relationship that has changed the person that I am today.

And …

I am part of everything that I have seen – experiences have coloured the way that I look at the world; screen viewing has built expectations; images have crafted dreams …

I am part of everything that I have consumed – meat and three veg, birthday cake, bread and cheese on a roadside, bread and butter in a restaurant, foie de veau, fish fingers and chips, illicit and sanctioned chocolate, fresh strawberries, warm peaches from a tree …

And …

the world in which I live is part of me … and every me that lives in it … it is a reflection of each decision made every second … it reflects our decisions to write, or to read, or to help, or to cook, or to smile, or to cry, or to turn away, or to  buy takeaway, or to hide, or to lay in bed and dream …

 

My world is what I have made it.

 

Leave a Reply

